I got scammed... wirelessunlocks.net

I guess you get what you pay for. I thought I was getting a deal by trying to get an unlock code for a TMobile Blackberry Pearl phone that my friend Levi gave me.

I googled "unlock codes for tmobile blackberry" and the clicked on the one of the adsense ads for a wireless unlock code for $7.99 from http://wirelessunlocks.net/.

Went on their website, they asked me to put in the phone model, imei number, carrier etc.. and I was kind of suspicious already as all the pages were html rather than any dynamic scripts. So I continued and it brought me to paypal to give them $7.99.

Then after one day, they emailed me asking for more details and the to: field was hidden. All emails were Bcced.. more doubts. I sent back information and they emailed me back to say that they cannot unlock my phone due to technical difficulties in that version of the phone and they'll refund me in 2 weeks.

Been 2 weeks and no refund == I have been scammed.

I searched the web and found that there are many such scam websites for unlocking codes.

Anyways, be careful when using cheap unlocking codes from the web and definitely - http://wirelessunlocks.net/ (wirelessunlocks) is a scam website.

New_logo

Posted